Connect with us


Odisha Assembly Elections : BJD Wins 112 Seats, Naveen Patnaik Gets One More Term As CM


Naveen Patnaik is all set to form the next government in Odisha as his party Biju Janata Dal or BJD has surged past the halfway mark in the state Assembly election. Of the total 147 seats in Odisha Vidhan Sabha, BJD is all set to win 112 seats and BJP is leading in 23 seats. The other major party Congress has won just 9 Assembly seats in Odisha.

With this Naveen Patnaik, one of the longest serving CMs in India, is also all set for one more term. He has been the CM of the state since 2000 and this will be his 5th term as Chief Minister.

“I thank the people of the state who have showered their blessings time and time again on the BJD. I also thank the leaders and workers of the party. I also thank the women of Odisha who came out in large numbers to vote for us,” said Naveen Patnaik post the results were out.

In the Assembly elections BJD secured 44.71% votes whereas BJP captured 32.50% votes. The grand old party Indian National Congress could manage to get 16.12% vote share.

In the Lok Sabha elections, BJP, however could able to make a bigger dent in the state with capturing 8 seats out of total 21. The Saffron party has just one representative in Parliament in 2014. BJD won in 12 seats and Congress in 1 seat.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Naveen Patnaik in the evening for his thumping victory in the state elections. The Odisha CM too reciprocated with his kind words and congratulated Modi for BJP’s resounding victory in the GeneralElections.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Politics