Connect with us


Braja Tripathy, Kharavela Swain Join Hands To Form Odisha Democratic Front


A new political party has emerged in Odisha just before the state Assembly Elections and Lok Sabha Elections slated in early 2019. The new party, named Odisha Democratic Front or ‘Odisha Ganatantrik Sammukhya’ in Odia, has been formed by two former MPs  – Braja Kishore Tripathy and Kharavel Swain.

Tripathy runs a fringe political party named Samata Kranti Dal and Kharavela Swain runs another party called Utkal Bharat.

With the formation of the new party, both the ex-MPs said the party will contest in all 147 assembly seats for the state election and will also field candidates for the Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

The Odisha Democratic Front’s objective is to defeat the incumbent BJD Government being led by Chief Minister Naveen Pattnaik.

Both of the ex-MPs are of the opinion that the government led by Pattnaik has failed the state and made it poorer in its 18 years of rule. They said the new party will emerge as an ‘alternative’ to BJD in the state and electorals will find a new choice to caste their votes.

Tripathy had been elected twice as MP and also was a cabinet minister in Late Prime Minister Atal Vehari Bajpayee’s Government. He was then elected as MP from a BJD ticket from Puri Lok Sabha constituency. Tripathy resigned from BJD in 2009 and formed his party Samata Kranti Dal in 2013. Similarly, Kharavela Swain is also a two-time elected MP. He had last won elections with a BJP ticket from Balasore.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Politics